About Us

Our World Covered Through Digital & Broadcast Journalism

Indian Country Today is a daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. Indian Country Today is the largest news site that covers tribes and Native people throughout the Americas. Our primary focus is delivering news to a national audience to your mobile phone. Indian Country Today is public media. We are a nonprofit news organization that sustains itself with funding from members, donors, foundations, and supporters. We also sell advertising in a variety of formats.

Indian Country Today is a spacious channel that serves Indigenous communities with news, entertainment, and opinion.

Our Team

Karen Lincoln Michel, Ho-Chunk
President, Indian Country Today
karenmichel@indiancountrytoday.com

Sky Vasquez, Bishop Paiute
Vice President, Indian Country Today
svasquez@indiancountrytoday.com

Mark Trahant, Shoshone-Bannock
Editor
mtrahant@indiancountrytoday.com

Heather Donovan
Sales Director
hdonovan@indiancountrytoday.com

Katie Oyan, Oglala Lakota
Managing Editor
koyan@indiancountrytoday.com

Patty Talahongva, Hopi
Executive Producer
ptalahongva@indiancountrytoday.com

​Tomas Karmelo Amaya, Yoeme/A:shiwi/Rarámur
Creative Director
tomas@indiancountrytoday.com

Vincent Schilling, Akwesasne Mohawk
Associate Editor
vschilling@indiancountrytoday.com

Jourdan Bennett-Begaye, Diné
Washington Editor
jbennett-begaye@indiancountrytoday.com

Kolby KickingWoman, Blackfeet/Gros Ventre
Reporter-Producer, Washington bureau
kkickingwoman@indiancountrytoday.com

Aliyah Chavez, Kewa Pueblo
Reporter-Producer
achavez@indiancountrytoday.com

Joaqlin Estus, Tlingit
National Correspondent (Anchorage)
jestus@indiancountrytoday.com

Dalton Walker, Red Lake Anishinaabe
National Correspondent
dwalker@indiancountrytoday.com

Carina Dominguez, Pascua Yaqui
Correspondent
carinadominguez@indiancountrytoday.com

Mary Annette Pember
National Correspondent
mpember@indiancountrytoday.com

Quindrea Yazzie
Intern (Spring/Summer 2020)
qyazzie@indiancountrytoday.com

Kalle Benallie
Intern (Spring/Summer 2020)
kbenallie@indiancountrytoday.com

Meghan Sullivan
Rebele Fellow (Summer 2020)
msullivan@indiancountrytoday.com

Our Locations

Phoenix Headquarters

Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Arizona State University
555 N Central Avenue, Suite 500
Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Mailing Address

Indian Country Today, LLC
P.O. Box 929
Phoenix, AZ 85001

Washington Bureau, Indian Country Today

Cronkite News Washington Bureau
Arizona State University
1800 I St NW, Washington, DC 20006

Alaska Bureau, Indian Country Today

Gould Hall
Alaska Pacific University
4101 University Dr, Anchorage, AK 99508